Twin Peaks - Fire Walk With Me
by Angelo Badalamenti

La bande-son d'Angelo Badalamenti pour le film "Twin Peaks" de David Lynch de 1992, Fire Walk With Me, reste toujours aussi enchanteresse et évocatrice, et obtient une réédition vinyle longtemps attendue par les fans de Twin Peaks grâce à Death Waltz Records.


Angelo Badalamenti’s soundtrack for David Lynch’s 1992 “Twin Peaks” film Fire Walk With Me remains as enchanting and evocative as ever, and gets a long overdue vinyl reissue courtesy of Death Waltz.

Despite a career that stretches back a half-century, Angelo Badalamenti’s arrangements for the likes of Nina Simone and Shirley Bassey as well as his soundtracks for A Nightmare on Elm Street 3: Dream Warriors, Dominion: Prequel to the Exorcist, and National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation never quite haunted the collective memory. (That is to say nothing of his forgotten turn at bouncy country music.) Instead, it was when he was brought in to coach Isabella Rossellini’s vocals on the set of 1986’s Blue Velvet that his profound collaboration with David Lynch began. Since then, Badalamenti’s distinctive blend of smoky jazz, ’50s pop, and three a.m. noir has seeped into pop culture. It’s easy to hear the hushed dark of his influence on an array of players, be they Nick Cave, the xx, Morphine, or Bohren & Der Club of Gore.

In providing themes that toggled between darkness and light on “Twin Peaks,” Badalamenti’s music slid into American prime time to lingering effect. But Lynch’s feature-length prequel box-office boondoggle Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me (25 years on, the Metacritic score holds at 28) clouded over the composer’s work for that film. And while none of the themes are as instantaneously familiar as anything from the series, Badalamenti’s soundtrack remains as enchanting and evocative as ever, presented here in a long overdue vinyl reissue courtesy of the soundtrack fetishists at Death Waltz.

Badalamenti handles all the production, arrangements, and orchestrations; he plays keyboards, even contributing some gruff vocals to the set. Tucked into its 12 tracks are a curious array of players, from bassist Ron Carter and hard bop drummer Grady Tate to the voice most often associated with the man’s music, Julee Cruise. The nearly seven-minute main theme might not readily pair to images of Agent Cooper or Laura Palmer, but it’s brooding and melancholic in its own right. Badalamenti’s keyboard chords haunt in the distance as a muted trumpet lead, walking bassline, and barely grazed ride cymbal conjure dark and lonesome images of their own. For a solo turn at the synthesizer, Badalamenti moves through a spectrum of sadness, distress, love, and resolve on closer “The Voice of Love.”

Tracklist :
Side A
01. Theme From Twin Peaks – Fire Walk With Me (6:40)
02. The Pine Float (3:58)
03. Sycamore Trees (3:52)

Side B
04. Don't Do Anything (I Wouldn't Do) (7:17)
05. A Real Indication (5:31)

Side C
06. Questions In A World Of Blue (4:50)
07. The Pink Room (4:02)
08. The Black Dog Runs At Night (1:45)
09. Best Friends (2:12)

Side D
10. Moving Through Time (6:41)
11. Montage From Twin Peaks - Girl Talk / Birds In Hell / Laura Palmer's Theme / Falling
12. The Voice Of Love (3:55)

Label : Death Waltz

2LP 2017
VAT excl. €37,50