Always Now
by Section 25

Factory Benelux est fier de présenter la version deluxe - box 5 vinyles d’Always Now, le premier album du groupe culte post-punk Section 25, produit par Martin Hannett. Pochette designée par Peter Saville.

Tous les morceaux ont été remasterisés et la box contient un livret de 16 pages présentant des photographies de Philippe Carly et des textes rédigés par les membres fondateurs Larry et Vin Cassidy. Les 5 disques comportent la version originale d’Always Now, les deux premiers EP’s de Section 25 (Charnel Ground, Je Veux Ton Amour et Girl’s Don’t Count), une version live enregistrée à Groningen, des bandes inédites issues de l’enregistrement de Key of Dreams ainsi qu’une version inédite en vinyle de la cassette culte Illuminus Illumina.


Factory Benelux is proud to present a deluxe 5 disc vinyl box set edition of Always Now, the debut album by cult Factory Records group Section 25, produced by legendary sonic architect Martin Hannett and sleeved by Peter Saville. Recorded as a trio at Pink Floyd’s Britannia Row studio in London in January 1981, Always Now combined austere post-punk rhythm and noise with elements of Can, Krautrock and modern psychedelia. Key tracks include Friendly Fires, Dirty Disco and New Horizon, along with C.P. (a collaboration with Hannett) and Hit (extensively sampled by Kanye West for the track F.M.L. on his 2016 album The Life of Pablo).

Disc 2 gathers together several non-album singles from 1980 and 1981, including Charnel Ground, Je Veux Ton Amour and debut EP Girls Don’t Count – the latter produced by mentors Rob Gretton and Ian Curtis (of Joy Division).

Disc 3 offers a complete live show professionally recorded at Groningen (Netherlands) on 26 October 1980, as part of a Factory package tour.

Disc 4 is part-improvised second studio album The Key of Dreams, recorded and produced by the band themselves a few months after Always Now, and released by Factory Benelux in June 1982.

Disc 5 consists of further experimental material recorded in 1981 and self-released on a cassette called Illuminus Illumina. This final disc closes with an extended (and previously unreleased) live encore jam recorded with all four members of New Order at Reading University on 8 May 1981.

All tracks are newly re-mastered from the original quarter-inch tapes. The first 1000 copies of the box set are pressed in coloured vinyl: disc 1 (black); disc 2 (clear); disc 3 (yellow); disc 4 (red); disc 5 (silver). The outer case in printed in PMS 123 with spot varnish. The 16 page booklet features unseen images by noted photographer Philippe Carly and texts by founder members Larry and Vin Cassidy. Also included is the first ever interview with guitarist Paul Wiggin, whose sudden departure in late 1981 saw Tony Wilson try (and fail) to recruit pre-Smiths teenager Johnny Marr as replacement.

Tracklist :
A1. Friendly Fires
A2. Dirty Disco
A3. C.P.
A4. Loose Talk (Costs Lives)
A5. Inside Out
A6. Melt Close
B1. Hit
B2. Babies in the Bardo
B3. Be Brave
B4. New Horizon

A1. Knew Noise
A2. Up To You
A3. Girls Don’t Count
A4. After Image
A5. Human Puppets
B1. Charnel Ground
B2. Haunted
B3. Je Veux Ton Amour
B4. One True Path

A1. Loose Talk (Costs Lives) (live)
A2. Human Puppets (live)
A3. Knew Noise (live)
A4. Friendly Fires (live)
A5. Girls Don’t Count (live)
B1. New Horizon (live)
B2. Haunted (live)
B3. You’re On Your Own (live)
B4. One Step Backward (live)

A1. Always Now
A2. Visitation
A3. Regions
A4. The Wheel
A5. No Abiding Place
A6. Once Before
B1. There Was a Time
B2. Wretch
B3. Sutra

A1. Fallen Monument
A2. Are You There?
A3. Virtually Everything
A4. Tape Loop
A5. Subferior
A6. In the Garden of Eden
A7. Cry
B1. Red Voice
B2. Floating
B3. Reading Uni Jam with New Order (1981)

Label : Factory Benelux

5LP Boxset 2019
VAT excl. €62,50