by Flox

Square represents a major turning point in the career of the pioneer of nu reggae. An extraordinary architect of studio production and multi-instrumentalist who records, mixes and produces but also, for several years, performs on stage with his musicians. After recording Square, he started touring alone, equipped with a machine he designed and built with Midi controllers to launch original samples and loops - an autarky assumed from one end of the process to the other. “You have to master all the tools to deliver what you want”, he has been saying for years...

Yet, this Square is wide open: old school rhythms or techno-like approaches, vintage dub or futuristic take offs, thick sound basses and melodies, scraped to the bone...
All this is Flox, a solid innovator who never stops renewing his nu reggae, a maniacal craftsman who regulates, to the micron, tracks of perfect simplicity of access. His trademark is this highly spatialized form of reggae, with an enveloping sound, which seems to take the artist and the listener into a shared bubble; as padded as tense.

Tracklist :

1. Smoke Grass
2. In The Shade
3. Coming Out
4. Herbs And Spices
5. Never Gonna Stop
6. Morning Tempo
7. Spices And Herbs
8. Move On
9. Be My Guest
10. Square

LP CD 2022
VAT excl. €8,33

En ajoutant ce produit à ton panier, tu contribues à verser une rémunération plus importante aux artistes et labels indépendants. En savoir plus -> By adding this product to your cart, you are contributing to paying more remuneration to independent artists and labels. Find out more ->